a food/wine/marketing blog that is funny by accident, sarcastic on purpose.

happy pepper.

The first night of my Labor Day weekend was spent drinking Papapietro Perry pinot noir and making vegetarian tacos with one of my own personal favorite chefs, my friend John. We picked tomatoes and bell peppers from his garden to make the veggie kabobs (bell peppers and onions) and salsa. As John went to throw away the stem of this bell pepper, I noticed the happy face on it. Needless to say, I had to send it to TwitPic, and later to my “things that make me laugh” album on Facebook.

Since Labor Day is the last “hurrah” of the summer, this weekend got me thinking about the next season and my personal favorite – Autumn! As I say time and time again, it is the little things in life that make it all worth it. Having my birthday land on the very first day of my favorite time of year just adds the cream cheese frosting to my cupcake or the happy face to my bell pepper. I am a huge fan of simplicity. It is that one simple moment that something happens that you know YOU were meant to see. That one glimpse of the cute guy looking you up and down, the butterfly that chose to land on your hand when you were just about to scratch your nose, or that nature-made happy face on a bell pepper.

One of my favorite simplistic fall activities is finding the dried up oak leaves that just fell on the ground and stomping on them, making the crushing sound. When I find a huge pile of perfectly dry oak leaves and make my first jump, nothing else in the world matters, it is just me, my ears and the leaves.

So many other things to look forward to: stuffed squash, heirloom tomatos, Australian boys in town for Crush, carmel apples, Halloween, sweaters, Pumpkin Ale, pinot drinking weather, the smell in the air here in Healdsburg during Crush, Halloween costumes, my move to Alexander Valley on October 1st and most importantly my second annual black and white birthday bash.

3 responses

  1. aw….would love to open up a vegetable to a smile!

    September 17, 2008 at 4:25 pm

  2. What a cool pepper!

    September 20, 2008 at 7:05 pm

  3. Pingback: more recipes i have found. « shana; not out on VHS yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.