a food/wine/marketing blog that is funny by accident, sarcastic on purpose.

work and life to intertwined together…

Lia Huber, Clos du Bois’ blogger for swirlingnotions.com just posted a blog asking the question, does having the experience just for the sake of a blog post make the experience satisfying enough to blog about, or is it that the experience was so satisfying that it creates a good blog post?

Her post made me think about my own time spent outside of my 40-60 hour work week.

The back of my head is in a constant state of circulating ideas for my current, potential and dream clients; it doesn’t matter where I am: at the store, at a friend’s house, watching a movie, driving, walking down the streets of San Francisco… My friends have all rolled their eyes each time I pull out my camera to take a picture of a billboard, graffiti, in-store signage, a front of store display, a cool new high tech product, almost anything that I think should be forwarded onto my co-workers, blogged about or remembered for later.

Granted, there is nothing I enjoy more than great friends, the perfect wine and laughing until my eyes tear up, but it doesn’t mean that you have to sacrifice the experience for what you do for a living.

When I was younger I used to be the one at the parties taking the pictures. When I would get them developed I noticed that I was never in them, I was watching other people having fun. I finally realized that there is a balance of actually living and capturing the moment to share with others.

I don’t really think that I answered her question, nor do I even believe it is a question that can be answered, because it all comes down to enjoying life the way you want to without having it pass you by.

I wouldn’t want to be in any other profession, and yes, I do tend to obsess about work, but the best ideas come from real life experiences, being in the pictures, and maybe some time spent lounging on a hammock.

One response

  1. Shana,

    Thanks for the call-out! It’s great to see the conversation that has sprouted around it. I can so relate to hanging back and taking the photos–in essence, framing the shots in your mind–and then realizing that you’re not actually participating in the scene itself. I feel very much that way as a writer. And I think you’re right, that the question doesn’t have a clear cut answer that fits everyone, nor does an answer fit anyone all the time. It’s a line to be walked, a balance to be struck, between letting the creative expression flow through us and also being present in the moment. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts!

    April 22, 2008 at 8:20 pm

Leave a Reply

