a food/wine/marketing blog that is funny by accident, sarcastic on purpose.

latest obsession: Scharffen Berger cacao nibs

The MacKenzie Agency just recently worked with Scharffen Berger Chocolate Maker on the public relations support for their 2nd Annual Chocolate Adventure Contest.   As part of the promotion, we used Scarffen Berger® Roasted Cacao Nibs.

Of course, I had to test them out to make sure they were suitable to go out to writers, so I tried a few and fell in love with the nutty crunchy and toasty flavor of these crushed and roasted cacao beans.

Yes, I have had cacao nibs in my favorite Scharffen Berger® Bar, a 3oz 62% cacao Nibby Bar, but never in anything else, especially anything that isn’t dessert.  Inspired by the contest, as well as Alice Medrich’s recipe for cacao nib salad, I decided to test out these nibs in my everyday food preparation to see if they were really as good as everyone says they are.

cacaonibs

These past few weeks I have been dicing up cacao nibs and putting them in everything: green beans, salads, pasta dishes and sweet potatoes.  My two roomates, who seem to only eat flavorless chicken and sweet potatoes every night even loved the unexpected burst of flavor they gave to the sweet potatoes….  Even more so when paired with some chili peppers.

I am even inspired to test out a new recipe that I have wanted to create using the rules to Chocolate Adventure Contest. I cannot wait to see if I end up buring down my kicthen, or actually creating my first recipe….

Leave a Reply

