a food/wine/marketing blog that is funny by accident, sarcastic on purpose.

wbw post #1: my breakfast habits.

The January Wine Blogging Wednesday challenge has left me taking a deep look at my morning habits. El Jefe of Twister Oak Winery (yes, the winery with the  infamous Rubber Chicken) asked us to pair a glass of wine with breakfast. A great and difficult concept that has finally got me excited for a WBW challenge.

On a normal weekday I wake up, check my email, play a round of Scrabble on Facebook and then I GET OUT OF BED. This method isn’t necessarily unproductive. Actually, it is a nice change of pace from the years of having to jump out of bed, quickly get ready and run off to work at 8AM. Though it leaves me with an unsettling feeling like I am missing something. Maybe because I do all of this while half asleep.

I usually eat my breakfast of either a packet of oatmeal or an English muffin and peanut butter and a cup of Yerba Mate tea when I get into work.

This week marked my first week back in college. I decided to take a PR class at the Santa Rosa Junior College on Tuesday and Tuesday mornings which means that now my morning habits will have to include some type of breakfast so I don’t go broke and fat from grabbing a chocolate croissant every morning.

My new goal is to get out of bed, make breakfast, shower and then get on my laptop to answer emails and eat my breakfast — away from the comforts of my comfy bed.

As I ponder if my attempt to change my breakfast habits will actually play out in the long run, my mind wanders back over to wine and what breakfast items wine pairs with. El Jefe did say that any sparkling wine would not work with this challenge because it is too easy.

The recipe I decided to go with is adaptation of one from ChooseVeg.com. A Vegan “Bacon”, Potato, and Green Onion Frittata.  I have been been one to follow direction, nor did I want to eat “baco’s” I changed the recipe slightly.

Since I have been harassed constantly about bacon over the last few months (on Twitter, Facebook and even in real life) I decided this would be my chance to test out tofu bacon. Yes, tofu that is made to look and apparently taste like bacon.

The meal is now planned, but now I have to figure out which wine goes best with my vegan and tofu bacon frittata. Thankfully, I am more of a savory breakfast eater than a sweet one (though DO NOT get me started on waffles) so the wine choice was relativity easy— A bottle of 2005 Bella Vineyard Zinfandel that I picked up from my latest wine tasting adventure.

So….

I just realized I wrote too much for me to want to put in one blog post so be on the lookout for another posting about my adventures with wine and tofu bacon.

One response

  1. Don’t feel bad about eating bacon if you like it, but I guess tofu bacon would be a healthy and possibly tasty alternative; certainly better than bacos, which always leave an unpleasant and lingering aftertaste in my opinion. I’ll have to tune in to get your update on Zin and the art of tofu bacon.

    January 17, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Leave a Reply

