a food/wine/marketing blog that is funny by accident, sarcastic on purpose.

irony in social media.

From a PR standpoint, Twitter is great for starting conversations with key influencers in any industry.  It is an easy way to make friends and get your message across.  But it is also an easy tool to shoot yourself in your own foot if used improperly.

Case in point: A Vice President at one of the largest PR firm’s in the United States was visiting one of their largest clients in Memphis, Tennessee.  After landing in Memphis, he tweeted:

“True confession but I’m in one of those towns where I scratch my head and say, ‘I would die if I had to live here.”

The large client saw the tweet and, needless to say, was not pleases that this VP was trashing the city that they are headquartered in.  For more, please read Former CBS News Correspondent David Henderson’s article on the subject.

This foot in mouth scenario is a great reminder that what happens on the internet, does in fact, stay on the internet.  And is available for all to read.

The irony of this is that the VP was headed over to visit the client to discuss Social Media strategy.  I think he needs to take a spoonful of his own advice. Using Social Media for a brand is all about creating relationships and building content that will help your brand.  He was a part of the brand for his agency and rule #1 in Marketing: Do not bite the hand that feeds you.

I know that not all of my tweets are all about work related issues and I cannot judge anyone for making a comment without thinking. We are all human.  But it has definitely got me thinking about my online persona and what I say online.

One response

  1. This VP had too many in air cocktails.

    Also check out, How to Destroy Your Twitter Brand in Minutes http://mashable.com/2009/01/24/how-to-destroy-your-twitter-brand-in-minutes

    January 30, 2009 at 6:09 pm

Leave a Reply

