a food/wine/marketing blog that is funny by accident, sarcastic on purpose.

a new love of gardening.

Last week I stopped by the Love Farms Market in downtown Healdsburg to say hello to a friend who was helping to remodel the store.  Love Farms is a local farm which grows certified organic fruits, veggies and sells seedlings for people to grow their own. They supply produce to some of Healdsburg’s biggest restaurants (Barn Diva, Ravenous and Cyrus) as well as to anyone who stops in their retail store or by their farm on Grant Street.


love-farms

Picture taken from Jon of Sonoma’s Flicker page

During my visit, Ron Love (owner and the farm’s namesake) told me that they are remodeling the market to introduce a healthy and economical community restaurant to the town in the back portion of the store.  He mentioned it would be opening up around the time when the Healdsburg Farmers Market opens up (in May) with meals made, of course, with Love Farms produce.  During my visit we talked about the new seedlings that they are selling and he inspired me to want to start my garden at my house.

All of this rain and the extra pinch on my pocketbook as of late has gotten me into a food funk.  I notice that during the winter I am much more apt to eat meals with less variety…. Maybe it is the weather and being stuck indoors has made me a bit lazy, maybe I just know I can use that as an excuse. But I don’t seem to have the same inspiration in the wintertime as I do during the fall, spring and definitely the summer.

I still buy produce… I have had a lazy vegetarian taco kick that has lasted the past two months.  A few times a week, I will sauté up some spinach, mushrooms, bell peppers and onions along with some store bought salsa to make my tacos. It takes no time at all and they are delicious, but that is beyond the point.

What is my point?  Do I even have one?

Oh…. yes…. My food habits have become monotonous.  My visit at Love Farms has sparked a new excitement in me.  Sonoma County is the perfect climate to grow a garden (or even a Farm).  For the first time since I moved out on my own, I am not living in an apartment… Even better – my house already has three boxes for gardening.  Ron mentioned that right now is the perfect time to start growing my seedlings, or purchase them from him to start growing my beets, onions, garlic and spinach.  So, look for tweets and blog posts about my very first adventures in gardening.

One response

  1. I planted a garden last year and it was great! It’s a touch too early for us to start our seeds yet, but when we get back from CA it will be the perfect time. I grew tomatoes, green beans, rosemary, basil, and mint last year. We had fresh tomatoes from July through October! I think I’ll plant beans and tomatoes again and I’m going to add in zucchini and acorn squash. Yum! Good luck with yours!

    March 8, 2009 at 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

