a food/wine/marketing blog that is funny by accident, sarcastic on purpose.

social media classes in sonoma county.

If someone asked me at the age of eight what I wanted to be when I grew up, I would have had one of three different responses: A lawyer, a teacher or the person who writes commercials.  The third dream of mine is the one that I ended up pursuing and even though my dream was crushed by the decline in TV advertising, I knew even at a young age that the marketing world was the world for me.  Good thing the world of internet advertising allows for more creative thinking and versatility than the in-the-box model of the TV advertisement.

Over the years many people have told me that I would make a great teacher, that I have a commanding voice (I think they mean loud) and now it is official – I am breaking out the glasses, the khaki pants and a plain blue blouse (memories of Mr. Murdock and Mr. Kaufman my two favorite teachers in high school) because I am going to start teaching social media classes for the Sonoma County Tourism Bureau.

teacher-doris-day

The Sonoma County Tourism Bureau (SCTB) recently started an extensive social media campaign and in addition to a presence on Twitter (@InsideSonoma), Facebook and YouTube,  as well as their blog Inside Sonoma, they are also trying to get Sonoma County businesses involved in the web 2.0 world.

This is where I come in….

Starting in April I will be holding beginner social media classes at the SCTB headquarters off of Airport Blvd in Santa Rosa for Sonoma County business owners.

In addition to teaching people what social media is and why they should incorporate it into their marketing budgets, I will be teaching people how to set up Twitter and Facebook accounts and giving basic tips on how to start thinking about an overall social media campaign.  If you know of anyone in Sonoma County who wants to be a part of the social media world, yet doesn’t know where to start then please let them know about these classes!

Dates and Times:

Wednesday April 14th 10:00 -11:30AM

Wednesday April 29th 10:00 – 11:30AM

To RSVP, please contact Keri Hansen at the SCTB:

khanson@sonomacounty.com

707-522-5815 or 800-576-6662

www.SonomaCounty.com

Depending on the response of the classes, we will dive deeper into developing social media strategies, so if you want more classes, please feel free to request them from the SCTB and help refer others to my beginner classes!

2 responses

  1. Tim

    You go, sharayray! Be patient with the noobs.

    Cheers,
    Tim

    March 26, 2009 at 9:19 pm

  2. Thanks Tim. Hey, if I can teach my mom how to use Facebook, I can teach anyone!

    March 27, 2009 at 10:33 am

Leave a Reply

